John Slater’s Legacy for Okanagan Water

May 18, 2015
John Slater
John Slater, former Chair of the Okanagan Basin Water Board

Letter to Editor – May 18, 2015 – Okanagan Basin Water Board

As we mark the passing of John Slater, former Liberal MLA and mayor of Osoyoos, let us especially remember and celebrate him as a champion for water. Under his leadership as Chair of the Okanagan Basin Water Board from 2003 to 2008, the agency went through a dramatic renewal of mandate – from focusing primarily on aquatic weed control, to a dynamic organization earning national recognition for collaborative water stewardship. It was this legacy of excellence that led to his 2009 appointment by Premier Christie Clark as Parliamentary Secretary for Water Supply and Allocation, supporting the modernization of the B.C. Water Act. John cared passionately for water and for the Okanagan, and made a lasting difference.

Click to Download (PDF)

Group Photo
MP Ron Cannan, Anna Warwick Sears and John Slater